State-mandated Classes 



Driving While Intoxicated 
Texas Law: During the Texas 72nd Legislative Session, legislation was sponsored and passed (Senate Bill 16) requiring the automatic suspension of the driver's license of any person convicted of certain drug offenses. This legislation requires offenders to attend an education program on the dangers of drug abuse approved by the Texas Commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse and authorized under Texas Civil Statutes, Article 6687b, Section 24B in order to have their license reinstated.

The Texas DWI Education Program is the Texas state mandated class for those who have received a first DWI offense. It provides 12 hours of education covering the effects of alcohol on the body and driving abilities as well as the driving laws. Participants must attend all classes in order to receive a certificate. If a participate misses a class he/she must start over.

Call to schedule an appointment prior to registration for all DWI Education courses held at our Clear Lake Office. Dates are to be determined.

**Pre-registration is required. You must be registered three days prior to the start of class. If a UA or screening is needed, you must have the service completed three days prior to the class start date. To find a location nearest you, please refer to our Office Locations page.


Driving While Intoxicated for Repeat Offenders 
Effective Sept.1, 1993, Article 42.12, Section 12(J), Code of Criminal Procedure, as amended by the 73rd Legislature, states that a "Judge shall require a defendant who is punished for a subsequent DWI as a condition of community supervision, to attend and successfully complete an educational program for repeat offenders approved by TCADA (Texas Commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse)."

This 7 1/2 week program was designed to educate participants about chemical dependency and the problems associated with chemical dependency. It also provides intensive instructions about specific actions a participant can take to prevent future DWI offenses. To prevent alcohol/drug related problems in other life areas, necessary lifestyle changes are addressed.

Since the maximum class size is limited to 15 participants, registration for this class is done by appointments only. You must be registered three days prior to the start of class. If a UA or screening is needed, you must have the service completed three days prior to the class start date.


Texas Drug Offender Education Program 
Texas Law: During the Texas 72nd Legislative Session, legislation was sponsored and passed (Senate Bill 16) requiring the automatic suspension of the driver’s license of any person convicted of certain drug offenses. This legislation requires offenders to attend an education program on the dangers of drug abuse approved by the Texas commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse and authorized under Texas Civil Statutes, Article 6687b, Section 24B in order to have their license reinstated.

The Texas Drug Offender Education Program (TDOEP) is the Texas state mandated class for those who have been convicted of certain drug offenses and/or have had their driver’s license revoked. This class consists of a total of 15 hours. Participants must attend all classes in order to receive a certificate.

**Pre-registration is required. To find a location nearest you, please see our office locations. 






[ Return to Top ]
HomeOur BlogMailing ListMediaContact Us


© Bay Area Council on Drugs & Alcohol 2012  |   All Rights Reserved

BACODA is funded by TDSHS, United Way, fees for services, foundations, and donations.